CMA Awards 2023 Winners: Luke Combs’ ‘Fast Car’ Takes the Spotlight and More – Complete List (Updates)

Luke Combs claims CMA Awards 2023
Luke Combs claims CMA Awards 2023

CMA Awards 2023 Winners

Let’s unveil the winners of the CMA Awards 2023 from the iconic Bridgestone Arena in Nashville. Tracy Chipman, the frontman of Luke Combs’ “Fast Car,” took home the first two awards of the night, winning Song of the Year and Single of the Year. While Chipman himself didn’t perform, presenter Sarah Evans read a statement from the singer-songwriter, expressing his regret at not being able to join everyone but also remarking, “Accepting my song 35 years later was truly an honor. It’s a first for me.”

CMA Awards 2023 Pre-Show Triumphs

Before the live broadcast of the CMA Awards 2023, the dynamic duo of Hardy and Lainey Wilson nabbed two awards, one for the Best Music Video of the Year for “Wait in the Truck” and the other for Musical Event of the Year. Brothers Osborne at the CMA Awards 2023, secured their sixth win for Vocal Duo of the Year, alongside T.J. They celebrated with humor, saying, “We are shocked, honestly, every year, it seems to happen.” They speculated on how the night would unfold for Lainey Wilson and Hardy, who had won the awards previously.

CMA Awards 2023 Show Highlights

At the CMA Awards 2023, Jelly Roll kicked off the evening with a non-televised performance, starting the show with a special announcement that he’d be joining forces with Wynonna Judd for a duet of “Need A Savior.” Another untelevised performance during the CMA Awards 2023 that was not to be missed featured Dierks Bentley bringing out the powerhouse duo behind “One Beer,” Morgan Wallen and Jordan Davis. Wallen and Davis are all set to perform an additional slot during the three-hour telecast. Wallen and Wynonna will salute Judd as they sing “Love Can Build a Bridge.”

CMA Awards 2023 Show Highlights
CMA Awards 2023 Show Highlights

Wilson was the ultimate leader, heading the CMA Awards 2023  nominations. Kacey Musgraves follows with the second-highest number of nominations, securing five in total. Both Combs and Hardy have four nominations each.

CMA Awards 2023 Post-Show Tribute

The night’s post-show performance will feature Post Malone and Morgan Wallen playing classic country hits and honoring the late Jamie Buffet. Here’s how the results unfolded, where the winners in each category are highlighted:

Entertainer of the Year:

  • Luke Combs
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Carrie Underwood
  • Morgan Wallen
  • Lainey Wilson

Single of the Year:

  • “Fast Car” – Luke Combs

Producer: Luke Combs, Chip Matthews, Jonathan Singleton

Mix Engineer: Chip Matthews

  • “Oh, my heart is like a truck, resilient, true” – Lainey Wilson

Producer: Jay Joyce

Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce

  • “A Kind Word” – Jelly Roll

Producer: Austin Neal

Mix Engineer: Jeff Braun

  • “In the Coming Moments” – Jordan Davis

Producer: Paul DiGiovanni

Mix Engineer: Jim Cooley

  • “Truckside Serenity” – Hardy & Lainey Wilson

Production Team: Hardy, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, and Derek Wells

Mix Engineer: Joey Moi

Album of the Year:

  • “Landville” – Ashley McBryde

Producers: John Osborne, John Peets

Mix Engineers: Jenna Johnson, John Osborne

  • “Baylor Bottom” – Lainey Wilson

Producer: Jay Joyce

Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce

  • “Getting Old” – Luke Combs

Producers: Luke Combs, Chip Matthews, Jonathan Singleton

Mix Engineers: Michael H. Brauer, Jim Cooley, Chip Matthews

  • “Strong as a Pickup, Deep as a Feeling” – Morgan Wallen

Production Team: Jacob Durrett, Charlie Handsome, Joey Moi, and Cameron Montgomery

Mix Engineers: Josh Ditty, Joey Moi, Evin Nordlund

  • “Rolling Up” – Kelsi Ballerini

Producers: Kelsi Ballerini, Elisa Wehren

Mix Engineers: Dean Grichen-Marguerat, Elisa Wehren

Song of the Year:

  • “Fast Car”

Songwriters: Tracy Chipman

  • “Like a Truck Like a Heart”

Songwriters: Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson, Lainey Wilson

  • “The Next Thing You Know”

Lyricists: Jordan Davis, Greylan James, Chase McGill, and Josh Osborne

  • “Tennis Orange”

Songwriters: David Fanning, Paul Jenkins, Meghan Morean, Ben Williams

  • “Wait in the Truck”

Songwriters: Reni Blair, Michael Hardy, Hunter Phelps, Jordan Schmidt

Female Vocalist of the Year:

  • Kelsi Ballerini
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Ashley McBryde
  • Carly Pearce
  • Lainey Wilson

Male Vocalist of the Year:

  • Luke Combs
  • Jelly Roll
  • Cody Johnson
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Morgan Wallen

Vocal Duo of the Year:

  • Brooks & Dunn
  • Brothers Osborne
  • Dan + Shay
  • Maddie & Tae
  • Maren Morris & Ryan Hurd

Vocal Group of the Year:

  • Lady A
  • Little Big Town
  • Midland
  • Old Dominion
  • Zac Brown Band

Musical Event of the Year:

  • “Save Me” – Jelly Roll (with Lainey Wilson)

Producers: Zach Crowell, David Ray Stevens

  • “Alternate Destinations, West Coast Dreams (Remix)” – Cole Swindell and Joe Messina

Producer: Zach Crowell

  • “Praise My Existence” – Kane Brown (with Kaitlyn Brown)

Producer: Dan Huff

  • “Patience by the Vehicle” – Hardy (featuring Lainey Wilson)

Production Team: Hardy, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, and Derek Wells

  • “We’ve Put Our Battles to Rest” – Carly Pearce (featuring Chris Stapleton)

Producers: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne, Carly Pearce

Musician of the Year:

  • Jenee Fleenor
  • Paul Franklin
  • Rob McNelley
  • Derek Wells
  • Charlie Worsham

Music Video of the Year:

  • “Light On in the Powerhouse” – Kelsi Ballerini

Director: Reid Long

  • “Taking in Memory” – Old Dominion

Directors: Mason Allen, Nick Fletcher

  • “A Kind Word” – Jelly Roll

Director: Patrick Tohill

  • “The Future Unfolds” – Jordan Davis

Director: Running Bear

  • “Waiting by the Pickup” – Hardy & Lainey Wilson

Director: Justin Clough

Congratulations to all the winners of the CMA Awards 2023 ! It was a night filled with incredible performances and well-deserved recognition for the talented individuals who contribute to the world of country music.

May You Like: BlizzCon 2023 Opening Ceremony


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here